top of page

WHY?

Happy Easter!! What a glorious month reflecting upon what Christ Jesus has done for us. 1 Cor 15:14b "And if Christ has not been raised, our preaching is worthless, and so is your faith." Because Christ is alive, we can live a victorious life through Christ. I (Joni) had been trying to be a better daughter, a better mom, and a better wife but to no prevail, I had failed miserably. I had been caught up striving in the sanctification process to be better with my own power that I missed the truth that it is Christ that lives in me and for me. I also had started to commit a sin of unbelief in God's word since based on my experience I have been unable to prove true of God's word in my life such as "His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness". Is my experience true or is God's word true? Obviously, God's word is true and my experience is wrong. But praise the Lord; He has led me to read a book by Watchman Nee. He reminded me of the verse "I have been crucified with Christ Jesus, it is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me." The only thing that we need to do is to surrender (let go) and let Christ lives through me, have faith in God's promises and let God do the rest. It is a daily battle but His grace is sufficient for us. Our May 9th appointment with the German Consulate is fast approaching. There is a sense of renewed hope but also stress that is waiting to overwhelm if we let it. I'm (Ken) still finding it hard to shutout all the anxiety and stress completely but that is life. What's for certain is that I am weak and I will always need Him. While we have readjusted back here in Dallas, there is still a heavy sense of "what if" hanging over us. In consideration for our kids, I would love to establish a new normal as quickly as I can. Until our Lord direct us, the only thing we can do is to patiently pray. We have done all we can do to prepare and now we await the Consulate interview and then their response. It is in His hands. Wir beten weiter (We continue to pray). While we await and pray, the word 'contingency' has popped up in conversation in various circles. While we were able to push it into the back of our mind because we were in the midst of our various application journey, it has now become a more recurring word in conversation as we approach our 2nd attempt in obtaining a German work visa. We are still uncomfortable saying that word and thinking through a possible 'contingency plan.' For us, if we do spend the time and stress to think through this contingency plan, does it show our lack of faith? While we don't have a plan just yet, there are options in the back of my (Ken) mind, one that I'll spend time to chew through later after we hear back from the Consulate. Just as the Lord has given us faith to commit to the Chinese diaspora mission field in Germany years ago, confirming our many steps, he will equally confirm this contingency plan should it come to that. The only sure thing is our Lord Jesus. Let tomorrow worry about itself. Something else I (Ken) have been struggling through is understanding some aspects of Paul's 2nd missionary journey in Acts. We see that he was not allowed to proceed to his intended destinations only to be ultimately redirected to Macedonia. Some questions I have and struggled with regarding Paul's 2nd missionary journey: 1. Was it a mistake Paul wanted to go to the places (Asia and Bithynia) he was ultimately not permitted to enter by the Holy Spirit? 2. Was Paul called by God to go to those places he was turned away from? 3. If yes, why call him there to only to deny him entry? I learned there is a purpose for Paul's going to those places. However it is difficult to accept and understand being turned back. I would love to ask Paul about how he felt upon being denied entry.

Opportunities To Join Us In Prayers: Isaiah 55:8 says "For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD." Please pray for

  • visa application appointment 5/9 in Houston

  • we are still waiting to receive the employment letter from Germany OMF - pray for no delay

  • safe trip and travel mercy (depart 5/8 and return 5/9)

  • favor with the Consulate

  • protection and God's will to be done in OMF Returnee Retreat in Chicago 5/16-5/19 designed specifically to help and prepare people who will be returning to their native land soon with the transitions (Ken will be joining to observe and learn.)

  • oneness in marriage,

  • extra measure of grace for dealing with uncertainty and transitions,

  • wisdom to make godly decisions, and discernment and sensitivity toward the Spirit's leading with wisdom to make godly decisions:, and

  • when to turn in 60 days notice for apartment lease (May, June, July?)

  • economical summer plans for girls (girls' last day of school is 5/24)

  • encouragement for OMF team in Germany and also for protection over missionaries worldwide.

"I am no longer anxious about anything, as I realize that He is able to carry out His will for me. It does not matter where He places me, or how. That is for Him to consider, not me, for in the easiest positions He will give me grace, and in the most difficult ones His grace is sufficient.” - Hudson Taylor Please let us know how we can pray for you.

Ken and Joni (Hosanna-9, Shiloh-5, and Faith-3) Yu


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page