top of page

An 8 year old understands

So I was driving my oldest daughter home yesterday from school, after playing in the playground with her friends for a bit. She said to me "Daddy, I don't want to like it." I asked her what exactly. She replies, "Germany." "I don't want to like it...what if I do like it?" "I like my friends here..."

I'm not yet sure how to best alleviate some of her worries. Being a third culture kid (TCK) can't be easy. It was hard for me adjusting to life here in the US back in 1985. I grew to love my adopted home, however in the process become disconnected with "home." I'm praying for my daughter and the adjustments she will be making.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page